Organizational Design


INNOVATIVE ORGANIZATIONAL FORMS DEVELOPED COMPREHENSIVELY AND EFFICIENTLY.

Whenever companies have to change organizationally, the question arises which form of system should be chosen? The change can relate to the entire company or individual departments, such as procurement, finance or HR. The merging of several areas into one area is also a conceivable starting Point.

It does not matter if the goal is a swarm, an agile or other form of organization. If a company aspires to change and set ambitious goals, but does not perceive which form of organization is most suitable, then our solution "Organizational Design" fits perfectly.

A company might be faced with these typical starting points. For example, the larger areas with a few hundred employees have to take over more tasks without increasing staff numbers. Alternatively, personnel has to be reduced without diminishing the performance and the service area. Equally important is a scenario where many local units merge into one global unit. Frequently, the pressure to innovate is the catalyst for change projects.

Modern organizational forms, such as swarm organizations, should help to bring about more innovations in the work of the same team. In that way, the key drivers always increase efficiency and cost savings.

Already in the design phase of the restructuring, "Organizational Design" develops the basis for a sustainable reorganization.


ORGANIZATIONAL DESIGN FOUR AREAS OF THE DESIGN PHASE.

By default, the process of restructuring is divided into three phases: the design phase, the planning phase and the trans­formation phase. Organizational Design focuses only on the design phase of the project and begins by defining the prerequisites.

For the successful design of a new organization, it is recommended to have an integrated team of representatives of the new organization, future management and CPC. The design phase is divided into four sub-phases.

Vision & Strategy is the first sub-phase in which the basics are outlined. In the second sub-phase Governance, processes, organizational form and roles are defined. This is followed by sub-phase Capabilities, which determines what competencies and skills are needed. Finally, the sub-phase Collaboration follows, in which the collaboration is aligned internally as well as externally with the network and partners.

In each sub-phase, milestones are defined and results are documented, so that the reorganization works smoothly.


Vision & Strategy

The first step is to develop a future value proposition for the organization. The typical questions are: What added value can the organization offer its internal or external customers? Which distinguishing features are presented to competitors? The answers are summarized into a concise common vision.


Governance

In a second sub-phase, the necessary business processes for achieving the departmental vision are defined and adjusted. Furthermore, a suitable organizational form must be chosen. Should it be a matrix, a swarm or a pool organization or, perhaps, an agile organizational form? In a final step, the necessary roles and responsibilities are defined.


Capabilities

After defining and coordinating the necessary roles and responsibilities, the next step is to align them with the existing roles and skills of the employees. The goal is to gain transparency in the required organizational capabilities and the current state of affairs.


Collaboration

The fourth sub-phase deals with the internal and external collaboration model. On the one hand, it is important to define or adapt cooperation in terms of roles, responsibilities and processes. On the other hand, interfaces to the external networks have to be defined. These can be neighboring areas within the own organization as well as customer’s.  For example, an agile organization requires agile collaboration.


In addition to the four sub-phases of the Organizational Design, there are extra tasks that should be considered during a reorganization:

STANDARDS

These include HR policies, corporate policies, works councils,
taxes, and topics that are usually negotiated with partners in the organization. Very early in the design phase, these stakeholders become involved in the change process.

OPTIONAL

Often, change projects are accompanied by the implementation of additional facilities, such as a new IT tool or a shared service center. While these measures are optional, they should be taken into account in the planning stage.



KEY SUCCESS FACTORS: DESIGN SUCCESSFUL ORGANIZATIONS.

  1. Define a clear Vision
    Of particular importance is the definition of a clear vision that answers the question why should there be a new organizational unit or a new organizational model. Managers are challenged to face this question and to describe a sustainable vision. In finding a vision, it is important that the interests of the stakeholders and overall corporate group specifications are taken into account and included. The vision forms the reference point for the further definition of the organization.
  2. Involve the implicated
    Another key success factor is making those concerned part of the change process. That means that CPC consultants work out all the planning-relevant steps in close cooperation with the executives. At an early stage, all participants should create awareness and responsibility for achieving the goal together.
  3. Focus on customers
    As the basis of the organization‘s vision, CPC consultants focus on the orientation of the future organization, on its customers and the realized benefit.
  4. Make Organizational Design into a Project
    Set up the design phase of the future organization as a separate project. At CPC we see a greater progress with an agile approach and short design sprints followed by a direct management acceptance. In such setup it is possible to react quickly to changing requirements.

Reference Case: INTRODUCTION OF A POOL ORGANIZATION

Our customer, the product management department of a German telecommunications company, aspired to be well positioned in an increasingly dynamic market environment and growing range of tasks. She decided to restructure from a line organization to a pool organization.

CPC accompanied this transformation from the idea to the implementation. The one hundred percent dedication of 300 employees and senior executives as well as a tight timeline required a high level of commitment and willingness to change. After formulating a common vision, the team and department heads worked out the roles and responsibilities, processes and collaboration model of the target organization in work packages. Selected employees were trained early as change consultants and used to initiate concrete measures for dealing with the fields of action at the employee level. Thus, the future necessary network connections and initiatives of all employees could be experienced and tested out even before the transformation.

OBJECTIVE BENEFITS

  • Through our integrated approach of Organizational Design and Change Management, the managers and concerned
    employees were involved in shaping the transformation right from the start.
  • This ensures that the future organization fits the needs of the employees. In addition, important basic principles of a pool organization such as self-responsibility and self-organization are already felt before the transformation.
  • In the „GoLive" of the target organization, the customer was prepared for the future challenges and able to continue the subsequent transformation phase without external support. The area became a „blue print" for neighboring areas, which also desired to restructure from a line into a pool organization.

"ORGANIZATIONS CHARACTERIZE THEMSELVES THROUGH THE INVOLVED PEOPLE AND THEIR ENVIRONMENT."


Reference Case: DESIGN OF A MATRIX ORGANIZATION

One of the global market leaders in logistics brought together three IT departments across China, Germany and India to form a global software development unit. The goal was to accompany both the design and planning of the reorganization and the subsequent implementation. The project involved around 500 employees worldwide.

CPC initially advised on the definition of a common vision, as well as on the identification of a value profile and leadership principles.

In a four-month design phase with weekly „sprints", we worked together to develop a matrix organization with the underlying processes, roles and responsibilities as well as a service catalog. In the subsequent implementation, the developed organizational model was brought to life. For this purpose, CPC implemented a comprehensive change management architecture, which guaranteed the early support of the middle management with targeted measures and innovative formats, always comprehensively informed and
involved in the workforce.

OBJECTIVE BENEFITS

  • The comprehensive restructuring brought about enormous changes for almost every employee. CPC, together with the customer, assigned the middle management a partial responsibility for the design of the new organization and thus generated their critical support from the outset.
  • The success factor was the absolute transparency towards the employees, who were informed about project goals, achievements and challenges throughout the project with innovative formats and were asked for valuable feedback.
  • Not only did CPC advise on the strategic design of the new
    organization, but it also took on implementation responsibility, thus making a decisive contribution to its successful introduction.

"It is decisive for a successful organizational design to define the own value contribution within the company."

Sebastian Heymann, Manager at CPC



Contact

Portrait Michael Kempf
Partner
CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
Am Flughafen
THE SQUAIRE 11
60549 Frankfurt am Main  

Contact

Portrait Sebastian Keim
Senior Manager
CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
Am Flughafen
THE SQUAIRE 11
60549 Frankfurt am Main

Organizational Design


INNOVATIVE ORGANISATIONSFORMEN UMFASSEND UND EFFIZIENT AUFSETZEN.

Wenn sich Unternehmen organisatorisch verändern wollen oder müssen, weil sie mit ihrer aktuellen Organisation Probleme haben, stellt sich die Frage: welche Organisationsform soll gewählt werden? Die Veränderung kann sich auf das gesamte Unternehmen, mehrere Bereiche oder auch nur einen großen Bereich, wie beispielsweise Einkauf, Finance oder HR beziehen. Auch die Zusammenlegung mehrerer Bereiche zu einem Bereich ist ein denkbarer Ausgangspunkt.

Egal ob das Ziel eine Schwarmorganisation, eine agile Organisation oder andere Organisationsformen ist. Wenn Unternehmen sich verändern möchten und sich ehrgeizige Ziele gesetzt haben, aber noch nicht wissen, mit welcher Organisationsform sie diese bestmöglich erreichen, dann passt unsere Lösung „Organizational Design".

Typische Ausgangszielsetzungen sind, dass größere Bereiche mit einigen hundert Mitarbeitern bei gleichbleibender Mitarbeiterzahl mehr Aufgaben übernehmen sollen oder Personal soll einge­spart werden, ohne die Leistungen und den Service des Bereichs zu reduzieren. Oder viele lokale Einheiten werden zu einer globalen Einheit zusammen­gelegt. Manchmal ist auch der Innovationsdruck Auslöser für Veränderungsprojekte.

Moderne Organisationsformen, wie zum Beispiel Schwarmorganisationen, sollen dabei helfen, mehr Innovationen bei gleicher Teamstärke hervorzubringen. Die Haupttreiber sind also immer Effizienzsteigerung und Kosteneinsparungen.

Das „Organizational Design" setzt bereits in der Designphase der Umstrukturierung an und ist die Basis für eine nachhaltige Reorganisation.


ORGANIZATIONAL DESIGN VIER BEREICHE IN DER DESIGNPHASE.

Standardmäßig wird der Prozess einer Umstrukturierung in drei Phasen unterteilt: die Designphase, die Planungsphase und die Transformationsphase. Das Organizational Design konzentriert sich hingegen nur auf die Designphase des Projekts und beginnt mit der Festlegung der Voraussetzungen.

Für das erfolgreiche Design einer neuen Organisation empfiehlt es sich, ein integriertes Team aus Repräsentanten der neuen Organisation, dem zukünftigen Management und CPC aufzustellen. Die Designphase ist in vier Subphasen unterteilt.

Vision & Strategy bildet die erste Subphase, in der die Grundlagen gelegt werden. In der zweiten Subphase Governance werden Prozesse, Organisationsform und Rollen definiert. Anschließend folgt die Subphase Capabilities, in der fest­gelegt wird, welche Fähigkeiten und Skills benötigt werden. Als letztes folgt der Subphase Collaboration, in der die Zusammenarbeit intern als auch extern mit den Schnittstellen und Partnern angepasst wird.

In den jeweiligen Subphasen werden Meilensteine festgelegt und
Ergebnisse dokumentiert, sodass eine Reorganisation und vor allem die anschließende Organisation reibungslos funktionieren.


Vision & Strategy

Die erste Subphase schafft die Voraussetzung für alle weiteren organisatori­schen Designs. In einem ersten Schritt gilt es, eine zukünftige „Value Proposition" der Organisation zu entwickeln. Typische Fragestellungen lauten dabei: Welchen Mehrwert kann die Organisation ihren internen oder externen Kunden bieten? Welche Unterscheidungsmerkmale bestehen zu Konkurrenten? Die Antworten werden zu einer griffigen gemeinsamen Vision zusammengefasst.


Governance

In einer zweiten Subphase werden die nötigen Geschäftsprozesse zur Erreichung der Abteilungsvision definiert und angepasst. Weiterhin gilt es nun eine passende Organisationsform zu wählen. Soll es eine Matrix-, eine Schwarm- oder eine Poolorganisation oder doch eine agile Organisationsform sein? In einem letzten Schritt werden die nötigen Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten definiert.


Capabilities

Nachdem die nötigen Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten definiert und abgestimmt wurden, gilt es im nächsten Schritt, einen Abgleich zu den derzeitigen Rollen und Fähigkeiten der Mitarbeiter zu erarbeiten. Das Ziel besteht darin, Transparenz über die benötigten organisatorischen Fähigkeiten und den derzeitigen Stand zu erhalten.


Collaboration

Die vierte Subphase befasst sich mit dem internen und externen Zusammenarbeitsmodell. Einerseits gilt es, die Zusammenarbeit im Sinne von Rollen, Verantwortlichkeiten und Prozessen zu definieren bzw. anzupassen. Andererseits müssen die externen Schnittstellen definiert werden, dies können Nachbarbereiche innerhalb der eigenen Organisation sowie Kundenschnittstellen sein. Beispielsweise
erfordert eine agile Organisation ein agiles Zusammenarbeiten.


Neben den vier Subphasen der Designphase gibt es zusätzliche Aufgaben, die während einer Reorganisation betrachtet werden sollten:

Standards

Hierunter fallen HR-Richtlinien, Konzernrichtlinien, Betriebsrat und Steuern, Themenfelder, die normalerweise mit Partnern in der Organisation ausgehandelt werden. Schon sehr früh in der Designphase werden Personen aus diesen Interessenskreisen in den Veränderungsprozess miteinbezogen.

Optional

Oftmals gehen Veränderungsvorhaben einher mit der Implementierung weiterer Einrichtungen, wie zum Beispiel eines neuen IT-Tools oder dem Aufbau eines Shared Service Centers. Diese Maßnahmen sind zwar optional, doch sollten sie bereits bei der Planung berücksichtigt werden.



Key SUCCESS FACTORS: Organisationen erfolgreich gestalten.

  1. Eine klare Vision definieren
    Besonders wichtig ist die Definition einer klaren Vision, die die Frage beantwortet, warum es eine neue Organisationseinheit, beziehungsweise ein neues Organisationsmodell geben soll. Dabei sind die Führungskräfte gefordert, sich dieser Frage zu stellen und eine nachhaltige Vision zu beschreiben. Bei der Visionsfindung ist wichtig, dass die Interessen der Stakeholder und sämtliche Konzernvorgaben beachtet und miteinbezogen werden. Die Vision bildet den Referenzpunkt zur weiteren Definition der Organisation.
  2. Betroffene zu Beteiligten machen
    Ein weiterer zentraler Erfolgsfaktor ist, dass man die Betroffe­nen zu Beteiligten macht, das heißt, dass die CPC-Berater alle planungsrelevanten Schritte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Führungskräften erarbeiten. Schon frühzeitig sollte bei allen Beteilig­ten das Bewußtsein und die Verantwortung für ein gemeinsam zu erreichen­des Ziel geschaffen werden.
  3. Fokus auf Kunden legen
    Als Basis der Organisationsvision fokussieren CPC-Berater auf die Ausrichtung der zukünftigen Organisation, auf ihre Kunden und den zu genierenden Mehrwert.
  4. Organizational Design zum Projekt machen
    Setzen Sie die Designphase der zukünftigen Organisation als eigenes Projekt auf. Gute Erfolge hat CPC dabei mit einem agilen Vorgehen gemacht, mit kurzen Design Sprints gefolgt von einer direkten Management-Abnahme. In einem solchen Setup ist es möglich, schnell auf geänderte Anforderungen zu reagieren.

Reference Case: Einführung einer Poolorganisation

Unser Kunde aus dem Produktmanagement eines deutschen Telekommunikationskonzerns wollte für ein zunehmend dynamisch werdendes Marktumfeld und einen wachsenden Aufgabenbereich künftig gut aufgestellt sein. Er beschloss die Umstrukturierung von einer Linien- zu einer Poolorganisation.

CPC begleitete die Transformation von der Idee bis zur Umsetzung. Durch eine hundertprozentige Betroffenheit von 300 Mitarbeitern und Führungskräften des Bereichs und durch eine knappe Zeitleiste wurde ein hohes Engagement und eine große Bereitschaft zur Veränderung erfordert. Nach der Formulierung eines gemeinsamen Zielbildes arbeiteten die Team- und Abteilungsleiter die Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten, Prozesse und das Zusammenarbeitsmodell der Zielorganisation in Arbeitspaketen aus. Ausgewählte Mitarbeiter wurden frühzeitig zu Veränderungsberatern ausgebildet und eingesetzt, um konkrete Maßnahmen zur Bearbeitung der Handlungsfelder auf Mitarbeiter­ebene anzustoßen. So wurde die künftig nötige Vernetzung und Eigeninitiative aller Mitarbeiter bereits vor der Transformation erlebbar.

Erzielter Nutzen

  • Durch unseren integrierten Ansatz von Organizational Design und Change Management wurden die betroffenen Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter von Anfang an in die Gestaltung der Transformation eingebunden.
  • Dadurch wird sicher gestellt, dass die künftige Organisation zu den Bedürfnissen der Mitarbeiter passt. Außerdem werden wichtige Grundprinzipien einer Poolorganisation wie Eigenverantwortung und Selbstorganisation bereits vor der Transformation spürbar.
  • Beim „Go-Live" der Zielorganisation war der Kunde auf die künftigen Herausforderungen vorbereitet und befähigt, die nachfolgende Transformationsphase auch ohne externe Unterstützung fortzuführen. Der Bereich wurde zum „Blue Print" für Nachbarbereiche, die sich ebenfalls von einer Linien- zu einer Poolorganisation umstrukturieren wollten.

„Organisationen zeichnen sich durch die in ihr interagierenden Menschen und deren Umwelt aus."


Reference Case: Design einer Matrixorganisation 

Einer der Weltmarktführer im Bereich Logistik führte drei über China, Deutschland und Indien verteilte IT-Abteilungen zu einer globalen Softwareentwicklungseinheit zusammen. Ziel war es, sowohl die inhaltliche Ausgestaltung der Reorganisation, als auch die anschließende Implementierung zu begleiten. Das Projekt betraf weltweit ca. 500 Mitarbeiter.

CPC beriet zunächst bei der Definition einer gemeinsamen Vision, sowie bei der Identifikation eines Werteprofils und Führungsprinzipien. In einer viermonatigen Designphase mit wöchentlichen „Sprints" erarbeiteten wir gemeinsam eine Matrixorganisation mit den zu Grunde liegenden Prozessen, Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten sowie einen Service-Katalog.

In der anschließenden Implementierung wurde das entwickelte Organisationsmodell zum Leben erweckt. CPC setzte hierfür eine umfassende Change Management-Architektur auf, die mit gezielten Maßnahmen und innovativen Formaten die frühe Unterstützung des Mittelmanagements garantierte sowie die Belegschaft stets umfassend informierte und involvierte.

Erzielter Nutzen

  • Die umfassende Restrukturierung brachte enorme Veränderungen für fast jeden Mitarbeiter – CPC übertrug gemeinsam mit dem Kunden von Beginn an dem Mittelmanagement eine Teilverantwortung für die Ausgestaltung der neuen Organisation und generierte so frühzeitig deren erfolgskritischen Support.
  • Erfolgsfaktor war die absolute Transparenz gegenüber den Mitarbeitern, die während des gesamten Projekts mit innovativen Formaten über Ziele, Erfolge und Herausforderungen des Projektes informiert, und um wertvolles Feedback gebeten wurden.
  • CPC beriet nicht nur in der strategischen Ausarbeitung der neuen Organisation, sondern übernahm darüber hinaus auch Implementierungsverantwortung und trug so entscheidend zur erfolgreichen Einführung bei.

 

 

„Entscheidend für ein erfolgreiches Organisationsdesign ist es, den
eigenen Wertbeitrag innerhalb des Unternehmens zu definieren."

Sebastian Heymann, Manager bei CPC



Kontakt

Portrait Michael Kempf
Partner
CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
Am Flughafen
THE SQUAIRE 11
60549 Frankfurt am Main  

Kontakt

Portrait Sebastian Keim
Senior Manager
CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
Am Flughafen
THE SQUAIRE 11
60549 Frankfurt am Main  
Do you want to view the english version of our website? Click here to switch to english.