Process-oriented Organization


Standardized Processes and Transparent Roles:
From Procedural to Structural Organization.

Whether in divisions, business units or throughout the entire organization, there often is a structural organization with defined responsibilities and levels of hierarchy, but cooperation is ill-defined because central questions remain unanswered.

Which roles are there?

Which role has which tasks, competencies, and responsibilities?

Who is working for whom and in what order?

What are the deliverables and who creates them?

Which deliverables are mandatory, and which have more of a supporting character?

How do the different roles and departments work together and what interfaces are there?

The consequence: Ill-defined workflows and unclear role distributions end up costing companies a lot of money. That is why many companies chose to introduce a process-oriented organization. The first step is to define a transparent procedural organization with clear roles and processes from which a suitable structural organization can then be derived.

Example: In IT, processes have evolved heterogeneously for years. Cooperation between the different departments is not standardized. Introducing a process-oriented organization is recommended to boost efficiency and cut IT costs. The workflows of the entire system life cycle must be described and mapped end to end – from demand management processes and service delivery (specification, design, implementation and testing) to service operations.


Implementation: Modular Approach, Customized Solutions.

In order to build a process-oriented organization together with our customers, we rely on a modular approach and a time-tested methodology. Depending on what is required, we offer one, several, or all of the following modules:

Concept: Define the scope and level of detail for the process-oriented organization.

Communication & Marketing Concept: Ensure early and targeted buy-in of the relevant stakeholders by engaging them in the Design and Integration phases.

Design: Refine the processes, roles, and deliverables (or for existing structures, optimize to achieve a consistent process model).

Integration: Consistently integrate the processes in one or more organizations. Include the relevant stakeholders in validating the process model to strengthen commitment.

Implementation: Permanently implement the new process-oriented organization through target group-specific training, proven proprietary implementation tools, and targeted communication measures.

Module 1

Concept
Together with our customer, we initially define the scope of the process-oriented design. Do we need to define the management, value-creating, and supporting processes of the entire organization, a business unit or a department? At the same time, we determine the level of detail needed in the design of the process-oriented organization.

Module 2

Communication & Marketing Concept
Without early and targeted engagement of the relevant stakeholders, the project is most likely going to fail. If, for example, the production area restructures for process orientation but does not sufficiently integrate adjoining areas, tension and errors will arise at interface points. Therefore, a communication and marketing concept that identifies the relevant stakeholders, defines the type of involvement, and specifies the communication measures is absolutely essential to achieve sustainable change management.

Module 3

Design
In the next step, we flesh out the processes and organizational structure together with our customers. This includes defining and describing the roles, deliverables, and interfaces. For existing processes, we first conduct a process review and then begin process optimization. We bring to bear our many years of process management experience and ensure that all the relevant stakeholders are actively involved.  

Module 4

Integration
Once the process design is complete, we start to integrate the new processes and organizational structures with the adjoining organizations and areas. Here we use our Conference Room Simulation solution. The new processes, roles, deliverables, and interfaces are simulated together with the relevant stakeholders. Errors, gaps, and conflicts are clearly identified prior to implementation, thus saving time and money. At the same time, the participants develop a shared understanding of the new process-oriented organization.

Module 5

Implementation
Implementation revolves around training employees in the new processes and roles and building acceptance for the new process-oriented organization. Here, too, we use proven solutions, such as the Process Workshop. The new processes and roles are put to the test, rehearsed, and internalized in a safe environment using real business cases.


Your Benefits At a Glance.

  1. Using our modular approach, we offer tailor-made solutions ranging from design to implementation of process-oriented organizational models. Our focus remains on boosting workflow efficiency, whether for individual areas or the entire enterprise.  
  2. All the relevant stakeholders are identified early on and included in creating the process design. This builds trust and commitment.
  3. Using proven tools such as the Conference Room Simulation and the Process Workshop, we ensure that every participant internalizes the new roles and processes and develops a common understanding of the processes, roles, and deliverables. This builds acceptance across the board.

Most employees resist changes to familiar structures and processes. Therefore, an experienced change management partner is absolutely essential for successfully implementing a process-oriented organization. Benefit from our expertise as Germany‘s leading change management consulting firm.

Reference Case: Homogeneous Workflows and a Uniform Language.

Because of its global corporate structure, a leading automobile manufacturer needed to improve the integration of its IT systems and accommodate projects that involved an increasing number of areas. At the same time, corporate IT noticed that there was no „common language“ being spoken in projects and heterogeneous workflows were hindering efficient cooperation.
What had happened? Structures had evolved independently over time and the IT and specialist departments had been working virtually independently, resulting in processes and roles with little in common.

The solution
By introducing a process-oriented organization throughout the group‘s IT, structures and processes were harmonized over a period of two years with the involvement of the specialist departments.

Our Approach

Observe the status quo

  • Rigorously test existing processes
  • Collect and validate best practices
  • Optimize templates
  • Evaluate potential supporting systems  

Develop a uniform, comprehensive process model by standardizing processes, roles and deliverables in line with best practices.    

Validate and optimize the model by involving experts from the individual IT departments

  • Ensure the quality of the process model in Conference Room Simulations using over 100 representative use cases
  • Validate all interfaces with adjoining process domains
  • Rehearse and internalize roles and interactions in training sessions and “Process Workshops”

Build commitment
Convince management of the viability of the model

Benefits

  • Projects, line organizations and cooperation models between the different IT departments can be set up more quickly and easily because the process model delivers a reproducible blueprint.
  • The interfaces with the specialist departments are transparent and promote efficient cooperation.
  • Projects now all “speak the same language” – worldwide

“Introducing a process-oriented organization makes cooperation transparent for all employees and saves your company a lot of money.”

Jan Philipp Hölz, Manager at CPC



Contact

Portrait Michael Kempf
Partner
CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
Am Flughafen
THE SQUAIRE 11
60549 Frankfurt am Main  

Contact

Portrait Sebastian Keim
Senior Manager
CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
Am Flughafen
THE SQUAIRE 11
60549 Frankfurt am Main  
Do you want to view the english version of our website? Click here to switch to english.

Process-oriented Organization


Standardisierte Prozesse und transparente Rollen:
Von der Ablauf- zur Aufbauorganisation.

Ob in Unternehmensbereichen, Geschäftsbereichen oder der gesamten Organisation: Oft existiert zwar eine Aufbauorganisation mit festgelegten Aufgaben und Hierarchieebenen, aber die Zusammenarbeit ist nicht ausreichend definiert, da zentrale Fragen unbeantwortet bleiben.

Welche Rollen gibt es?

Welche Rolle hat welche Aufgaben, Kompetenzen und Verantwortlichkeiten?

Wer arbeitet wem zu und in welcher Reihenfolge?

Welche Liefergegenstände gibt es und von wem werden sie erstellt?

Welche Liefergegenstände sind verpflichtend, welche haben einen eher unterstützenden Charakter?

Wie arbeiten die verschiedene Rollen und Bereiche zusammen und welche Schnittstellen gibt es?

Die Folge: Intransparente Arbeitsabläufe und unklare Rollenver­teilungen kosten Unternehmen richtig viel Geld. Deshalb entscheiden sich viele Unternehmen für die Einführung einer prozessorientierten Organisation. Im ersten Schritt wird eine transparente Ablauforganisation mit klaren Rollen und Prozessen definiert und im zweiten Schritt eine passende Aufbauorganisation abgeleitet.

Beispiel: im IT-Bereich sind die Prozesse über die Jahre hinweg  heterogen gewachsen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den verschiedenen Fach­bereichen ist nicht standardisiert. Um die Effizienz zu steigern und die Kosten in der IT zu senken, empfiehlt sich die Einführung einer prozessorientierten Organisation. Die Arbeitsabläufe des gesamten System-Life-Cycles müssen end-to-end beschrieben und abgebildet werden – von den Demand Management-Prozessen über die Service Delivery (Spezifikation, Design, Realisierung und Test) bis hin zu Service Operations.


Die Umsetzung: Modulares Vorgehen, maßgeschneiderte Lösungen.

Um gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden eine prozessorientierte Organisation einzuführen, setzen wir auf ein modulares Vorgehen und bewährte Methoden. Je nach Bedarf bieten wir eines, mehrere oder alle der folgenden Module an:

Concept: Festlegung des Umfangs und der Detailtiefe der prozess­orientierten Organisation.

Communication & Marketing Concept: Sicherstellung des frühzeitigen und gezielten Buy-ins der relevanten Stakeholder durch die aktive Einbindung in die Design- und Integrationsphase.

Design: Ausarbeitung von Prozessen, Rollen und Liefergegenständen (alternativ bei bereits bestehenden Strukturen: Optimierung zu einem konsistenten Prozessmodell).

Integration: Konsequente Integration der Prozesse in einer oder mehreren Organisationen. Einbindung der relevanten Stakeholder bei der Validierung des Prozessmodells zur Steigerung des Commitments.

Implementation: Nachhaltige Implementierung der neuen prozess­orientierten Organisation durch zielgruppenspezifische Trainings, bewährte eigenentwickelte Implementierungstools und gezielte Kommunikationsmaßnahmen.

Modul 1

Concept
Zunächst legen wir gemeinsam mit unserem Kunden den Umfang fest, der prozessorientiert gestaltet werden soll. Sollen die Management-, wertschöpfenden und unterstützenden Prozesse der gesamten Organisation, eines Geschäftsbereichs oder eines Unternehmens­bereichs beschrieben werden? Gleichzeitig bestimmen wir die erforderliche Detail­tiefe, die bei der Ausgestaltung der prozessorientierten Organisation angesetzt wird.

Modul 2

Communication & Marketing Concept
Ohne die gezielte und frühzeitige Einbindung der relevanten Stakeholder wird das Vorhaben aller Voraussicht nach scheitern. Wenn beispielsweise der Produktionsbereich seine Organisationsstrukturen prozessorientiert umgestaltet, dabei aber die angrenzenden Bereiche nicht ausreichend integriert, wird es an den Schnittstellen zu Spannungen und Fehlern kommen. Ein Kommunikations- und Marketingkonzept, das die relevanten Stakeholder identifiziert, die Art der Einbindung definiert und die Kommunikationsmaßnahmen festlegt, ist daher unverzichtbarer Bestandteil eines nachhaltigen Change Managements.

Modul 3

Design
Im nächsten Schritt gestalten wir gemeinsam mit unserem Kunden die Prozesse und die Organisationsstruktur aus. Dazu gehört auch die Definition und Beschreibung von Rollen, Liefergegenständen und Schnittstellen. Bei bereits bestehenden Prozessen führen wir zunächst einen Prozess-Review durch und beginnen anschließend mit der Prozessoptimierung. Dabei bringen wir unsere langjährige Erfahrung im Prozessmanagement ein und sorgen für die aktive Einbindung aller relevanten Stakeholder. 

Modul 4

Integration
Nach dem Prozess-Design gilt es, die neuen Prozesse und Organisationsstrukturen mit den angrenzenden Organisationen und Bereichen zu integrieren. Hierbei nutzen wir unsere Solution „Conference Room
Simulation“: Die neuen Prozesse, Rollen, Liefergegenstände und Schnittstellen werden gemeinsam mit den relevanten Stakeholdern simuliert. Fehler, Lücken und Konflikte werden deutlich vor der Implementierung identifiziert. Das spart Zeit und Geld. Außerdem entsteht unter den Beteiligten ein gemeinsames Verständnis für die neue prozessorientierte Organisation.

Modul 5

Implementation
Bei der Implementierung geht es darum, Mitarbeiter in den neuen Prozessen und Rollen zu schulen und Akzeptanz für die neue prozess­orientierte Organisation zu schaffen. Auch hier setzen wir auf bewährte Lösungen, zum Beispiel die „Prozesswerkstatt“: In einem geschützten Rahmen werden die neuen Prozesse und Rollen anhand realer Geschäftsvorfälle ausprobiert, geübt und verinnerlicht.


Ihre Vorteile Auf einen Blick.

  1. Durch unser modulares Vorgehen bieten wir unseren Kunden maßgeschneiderte Lösungen: Von der Konzeption bis zur Implementierung prozessorientierter Organisationsmodelle. Im Fokus steht dabei immer die Effizienzsteigerung der Arbeitsabläufe – ob für einzelne Bereiche oder das gesamte Unternehmen.
  2. Alle relevanten Stakeholder werden frühzeitig identifiziert und in die Erstellung des Prozess-Designs eingebunden. Das schafft Vertrauen und Commitment.
  3. Über bewährte Tools wie die „Conference Room Simulation“ oder die „Prozesswerkstatt“ stellen wir sicher, dass alle Beteiligten die neuen Rollen und Prozesse verinnerlichen und ein gemeinsames Verständnis der Prozesse, Rollen und Liefergegenstände erlangen. Das schafft Akzeptanz in der Breite.

Die meisten Mitarbeiter reagieren mit Widerstand auf Ände­rungen ihrer gewohnten Strukturen und Prozesse. Für die erfolgreiche Einführung einer prozessorientierten Organisation ist daher ein erfahrener Partner in puncto Veränderungen der kritische Erfolgsfaktor. Profitieren Sie von unserem Know-how als führende Change Management Beratung Deutschlands.

Reference Case: Homogene Arbeitsabläufe und eine einheitliche Sprache.

Ein führender Automobilhersteller steht vor der Herausforderung, dass aufgrund der globalen Unternehmensstruktur die IT-Systeme stärker integriert werden müssen und Projekte immer mehr Bereiche umfassen. Gleichzeitig stellt die Konzern-IT fest, dass in Projekten keine „gemeinsame Sprache“ mehr gesprochen wird und heterogene Arbeitsabläufe eine effiziente Zusammenarbeit verhindern.

Wie konnte es dazu kommen? Aufgrund von historisch gewachsenen Strukturen und fast autark operierenden IT- und Fachbereichs­abteilungen sind über Jahre Prozesse und Rollen entstanden, die wenig miteinander gemein haben.

Die Lösung
Über die Einführung einer prozessorientierten Organisation in der konzernweiten IT werden Strukturen und Prozesse unter Einbindung der Fachbereiche über eine Laufzeit von zwei Jahren harmonisiert.

Unser Vorgehen

Betrachtung des Status Quo

  • Bestehende Prozesse auf den Prüfstand gestellt
  • Best Practices gesammelt und validiert
  • Templates optimiert
  • Potenziell unterstützende Systeme evaluiert

Entwicklung eines einheitlichen, übergreifenden Prozessmodells durch Standardisierung von Prozessen, Rollen und Liefer­gegenständen unter gleichzeitiger Berücksichtigung von Best Practices. 

Validierung und Optimierung des Modells mit den Experten aus den einzelnen IT-Abteilungen

  • Qualitätssicherung des Prozessmodells in „Conference Room Simulations“ mit mehr als 100 repräsentativen Use Cases
  • Validierung aller Schnittstellen zu den angrenzenden Prozessdomänen
  • Einüben und Verinnerlichen der Rollen und deren Zusammenspiel in Trainings und „Prozesswerkstätten“

Schaffung von Commitment
Überzeugung des Managements von der Funktionsfähigkeit des Modells.

Erzielter Nutzen

  •  Projekte, Linienorganisationen und Zusammenarbeitsmodelle zwischen unterschiedlichen Abteilungen in der IT können schneller und einfacher aufgesetzt werden, da das eingeführte Prozessmodell einen replizierbaren „Blueprint“ liefert.
  • Die Schnittstellen zu den Fachbereichen sind transparent und ermöglichen eine effiziente Zusammenarbeit.
  • In Projekten wird nun eine einheitliche Sprache gesprochen – weltweit.

    „Die Einführung einer prozessorientierten Organisation macht
    die Zusammenarbeit für alle Mitarbeiter transparent und spart Ihrem Unternehmen viel Geld.“ 

    Jan Philipp Hölz, Manager bei CPC



    Kontakt

    Portrait Michael Kempf
    Partner
    CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
    Am Flughafen
    THE SQUAIRE 11
    60549 Frankfurt am Main  

    Kontakt

    Portrait Sebastian Keim
    Senior Manager
    CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
    Am Flughafen
    THE SQUAIRE 11
    60549 Frankfurt am Main  
    Do you want to view the english version of our website? Click here to switch to english.