Process Excellence


Diverse Objectives: Customized Approaches.

Internal causes, external specifications, standards or regulations – the reasons why a company would want to analyze, optimize or document their processes can be as diverse as the goals they are trying to achieve:

  • Standardize workflows for divisions, business units or the entire organization (process-oriented organization).
  • Reduce costs, e.g. through reorganization.
  • Document known workflows for certification or an audit.
  • Implement or standardize processes following a merger or acquisition.
  • Make the company‘s process knowledge freely accessible to reduce training costs and loss of know-how.
  • Transfer processes from a project to the line organization.

Each of these requirements calls for a customized approach. While for certification it may be sufficient to record and document workflows in a structured way, building a process-oriented organization involves every component of process management – from process documentation and process optimization to implementation across the organization.


Excellent Processes Working with the stakeholders.

We offer our customers customized solutions based on their goals. We ascertain the desired scope with the relevant stakeholders and define the required modules, tools, and simulation methods. This ensures early commitment from stakeholders and creates a solid foundation for further action.

  1. Process Documentation
    During interviews with the staff responsible for process execution, we document the current state of processes at the necessary level of detail according to the methodology agreed upon (e.g. BPMN 2.0).
  2. Process Review
    The process review identifies the current weaknesses of the work-flows where action is needed. To achieve an accurate and realistic representation, we simulate the current processes in workshops together with the relevant process participants and experts.
  3. Process Optimization
    Working with the customer, we define and prioritize their optimization goals. Typical optimization goals are time, quality, and costs. Next we identify the potential for optimization together with the process participants while relying on creative methods such as the “6-3-5 method”. For the optimization of more complex workflows, our Conference Room Simulation is best practice. In a real-world setting, we simulate different variants of future processes with the relevant stakeholders. This results in mutual agreement on target processes.
  4. Process Implementation
    Once the target processes have been defined, the path to workflow implementation must be prepared. To secure acceptance by participants – a critical success factor – we use a variety of formats. Apart from our “Process Workshop,” in which we communicate the new processes and help employees internalize them, we also offer traditional training. Implementing new processes is typically associated with major changes to systems, documents, and interfaces. Our many years of experience with implementation projects have shown that this requires professional and consistent project management.

    “Process Workshop”
    In this format, every employee assumes the very responsibilities he or she will have in real life. The new processes, interfaces and roles are tested for functionality and acceptance in a test environment. The workshop promotes employee interaction and understanding of the change and speeds up adoption of the new workflows in the work environment.
  5. Process Management
    Process management entails creating standardized structures (roles, responsibilities, boards and general conditions) for process governance. This is the basis for future process changes and improvements as well as the introdution of new processes into the organization.


Your Benefits At a Glance.

“Practicability”
Our process experts do not prescribe solutions. Through knowledge transfer and formats such as Conference Room Simulation, we give our customers the opportunity to find the best possible solutions in a cooperative approach. This allows the results to take permanent hold in day-to-day operations, instead of gathering dust in the archive.

“Scalability”
Our approach is equally effective for medium-sized and large corporations.

“Acceptance”
Whether our customers do business in Germany, Brazil, or China, we always pay close attention to the cultural and national factors of the company as well as the country. All the relevant stakeholders are identified and included early on. This engenders acceptance and commitment.

“Experiential Learning”
Using proven tools such as the “Process Workshop”, we ensure that the full breadth of new roles and processes is experienced and internalized. This is how we anchor changes in the organization for the long term.

“Modular Components“
Our modular approach offers tailor-made solutions for our customers – from process documentation and optimization to process management.


Reference Case: processes made tansparent to all.

A major real estate group tasked us with creating uniform, transparent and applicable documentation for all corporate processes.

The documentation had to meet the minimum requirements of the internal control system, serve as the basis for SAP system specifications, and be useful for training purposes. As the scope of the project was being specified, additional goals became evident: The company would have to be able to adapt the processes itself and make them accessible to employees via the intranet. Specifically, over 20 process groups with 150 individual processes needed to be documented, charted as a process map, and saved together with associated work instructions.

To lay the necessary groundwork for the project in cooperation with the customer, we first delineated the strategic, business, and legal objectives of the process documentation. We then talked through the business processes with the process experts and documented those processes according to the objectives. At the same time we uncovered further potential for optimization, which we immediately implemented in the documentation. After finalizing the process documentation, we worked with the process owners to discuss, fine-tune and hand over the individual process groups. This was a key step since the owners of the new processes had to be able to convincingly explain the new processes within their own departments and also develop them in the future. In a final meeting with the process participants and department managers, we solidified a high level of commitment for the processes.

As a supporting measure to increase employee awareness the process plans were published on the company intranet and presented individually in each region.

“In addition to goal-oriented and transparent documentation of our customer‘s precesses we achieved one thing above all: the processes are being implemented on a daily basis and form the basis for continuous process improvement within the company.“


Reference Case: Introduction of Standardized HR Processes.

A leading international telecommunications company was faced with implementing standardized processes throughout the enterprise using the HR roles model as a template. A previous project with another consulting firm had been unsuccessful.

The client tasked us with defining and implementing processes for three HR service roles: Business Partner, Shared Service Center, and Competence Center. First we crafted a process model and a communications concept, anchoring them at the top management level. Appropriate tools such as FAQs, an intranet platform, and a newsletter were introduced.

The HR processes in all organizations were recorded and documented, then harmonized and optimized across the entire group. In “Conference Room Simulations”, the processes as well as the interaction between the various employee roles were tested for day-to-day viability.

To conclude the project and cement the success of the HR role models, over 500 employees from all the affiliated companies rehearsed the standardized processes and new roles in “Process Workshops”.

Other benefits included the following:

  • A best practice process model was designed that can be used to improve HR services on an ongoing basis.
  • Operational problems and disruptions were reduced.
  • Strong commitment to the transformation was developed because all participants had actively taken part in shaping the changes.
  • Disparate companies in the group began communicating with one another.
  • The basis for a uniform IT landscape was created.
  • Internal customer satisfaction rose significantly.
  • The Business Partner, Shared Service Center, and Competence Center roles gained mutual understanding and are now communicating better than ever.

    “Process projects can only be successful if employee acceptance and management support are ensured.”

    Jens Wilke, Manager at CPC



    Contact

    Portrait Michael Kempf
    Partner
    CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
    Am Flughafen
    THE SQUAIRE 11
    60549 Frankfurt am Main  

    Contact

    Portrait Sebastian Keim
    Senior Manager
    CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
    Am Flughafen
    THE SQUAIRE 11
    60549 Frankfurt am Main  
    Do you want to view the english version of our website? Click here to switch to english.

Process Excellence


Unterschiedliche Zielstellungen: Massgeschneiderte Vorgehensweisen.

Interne Ursachen, externe Vorgaben, Standards oder Regularien – die Gründe, weshalb Unternehmen ihre Prozesse dokumentieren, analysieren oder optimieren möchten, sind genauso vielfältig wie die damit verbundenen Zielstellungen:

  • Die Arbeitsabläufe sollen für Unternehmensbereiche, Geschäftsbereiche oder die gesamte Organisation standardisiert werden (Process-oriented Organization).
  • Es sollen Kosten eingespart werden, zum Beispiel durch eine Reorganisation.
  • Für eine Zertifizierung oder einen Audit müssen bekannte Arbeitsabläufe dokumentiert werden.
  • Das Prozesswissen im Unternehmen soll frei verfügbar sein, um lange Einarbeitungszeiten und Know-how-Verlust zu vermeiden.
  • Die Prozesse sollen von einem Projekt in die Linienorganisation übergeben werden.
  • Aufgrund eines Mergers oder einer Akquisition sollen Prozesse implementiert oder standardisiert werden.

Für jede dieser Herausforderungen gilt es, ein maßgeschneidertes Vorgehen zu definieren. Reicht es für eine Zertifizierung, die Arbeitsabläufe aufzunehmen und strukturiert zu dokumentieren, so umfasst die Einführung einer prozessorientierten Organisation hingegen alle Komponenten des Prozessmanagements: von der Prozessdokumentation über die Prozessoptimierung bis hin zur organisationsweiten Implementierung.


Exzellente Prozesse Gemeinsam mit den Beteiligten.

Abhängig von den Zielen einer Prozessveränderung bieten wir unseren Kunden maßgeschneiderte Lösungen an. Dazu stimmen wir den gewünschten Umfang mit den relevanten Stakeholdern ab und legen die erforderlichen Module, Tools und Simulationsmethoden fest. Dies schafft die Basis für das weitere Vorgehen und frühzeitiges Commitment aller Beteiligten.

  1. Process Documentation
    In strukturierten Interviews nehmen wir mit den Prozessbeteiligten gemeinsam die IST-Prozesse in der erforderlichen Detailtiefe auf.  Die Prozessdokumentation erfolgt nach einer gemeinsam festgelegten Methodik (zum Beispiel auf Basis von BPMN 2.0).
  2. Process Review
    Im Process Review werden die aktuellen Schwachstellen und Handlungsfelder in den Arbeitsabläufen identifiziert. Um ein möglichst genaues und repräsentatives Ergebnis zu erzielen, simulieren wir dazu in Workshops die aktuellen Prozesse gemeinsam mit den Prozessbeteiligten und -experten.
  3. Process Optimization
    Zunächst legen wir mit unseren Kunden die Optimierungsziele fest und priorisieren diese. Optimierungsziele sind typischer­weise Zeit, Qualität und Kosten. Im Anschluss identifizieren wir Optimierungspotenziale gemeinsam mit den Prozessbeteiligten. Hier setzen wir auf kreative Methoden, wie zum Beispiel die „6-3-5-Methode“. Bei komplexeren Arbeitsabläufen bietet sich unsere Solution „Conference Room Simulation“ an. In einem realitätsnahen Praxistest simulieren wir verschiedene Varianten der künftigen Prozesse mit den relevanten Stakeholdern. Das Ergebnis sind abgestimmte SOLL-Prozesse.
  4. Process Implementation
    Nachdem die SOLL-Prozesse definiert sind, gilt es, die Weichen für die Implementierung der neuen Arbeitsabläufe zu stellen. Dabei ist die Schaffung von Akzeptanz bei den Beteiligten ein kritischer Erfolgsfaktor. Hierfür greifen wir auf verschiedene Formate zurück: In unserer „Praxiswerkstatt“ werden die neuen Prozesse vermittelt und ver­innerlicht. Alternativ bieten wir klassi­sche Schulungen an.
    Die Implementierung neuer Prozesse geht außerdem meist mit größeren Anpassungen an Systemen, Dokumenten und Schnittstellen einher. Unsere lang­jährige Erfahrung in Implementierungsprojekten hat gezeigt, dass hierfür ein professionelles und durchgängiges Projektmanagement erforderlich ist.

    Exkurs „Praxiswerkstatt“
    Jeder Mitarbeiter übernimmt bei diesem Format genau die Aufgaben,  die ihn später auch im realen Arbeitsalltag erwarten. In einer Testumgebung werden die neuen Prozesse, Schnittstellen und Rollen auf ihre Funktionsfähigkeit und Akzeptanz geprüft. Die Werkstatt fördert das Zusammenspiel der Mitarbeiter sowie das Verständnis für die Veränderung. Dadurch werden die neuen Arbeitsabläufe schneller in die Praxis übertragen.
  5. Process Management
    Im Rahmen des Process Managements werden standardisierte Strukturen (Rollen, Verantwortlichkeiten, Gremien und Rahmenbedingungen) für eine Process Governance geschaffen. Dies ist die Basis für zukünftige Prozessveränderungen und -verbesserungen sowie die Einführung neuer Prozesse in der Organisation.


Ihre Vorteile
Im Überblick.

 „Praktikabilität“
Unsere Prozess­experten geben Lösungen nicht vor. Wir bieten unseren Kunden durch Wissenstransfer und Formate wie die „Conference Room Simulation“ die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam die bestmöglichen Lösungen zu finden. Dadurch schaffen wir die Voraussetzung, dass die Ergebnisse in der Praxis gelebt werden – statt im Archiv zu verstauben.

 „Skalierbarkeit“
Unsere Vorgehensweise ist für mittelständische Unternehmen und große Konzerne gleichermaßen anwendbar.

 „Akzeptanz“
Ob unsere Kunden in Deutschland, Brasilien oder in China operieren, wir achten stets auf die kulturellen und nationalen Gegebenheiten des Unternehmens sowie des Landes. Alle relevanten Stakeholder werden frühzeitig identifiziert und gezielt eingebunden. Das schafft Akzeptanz und Commitment.

 „Erlebbarkeit“
Über bewährte Tools wie die „Prozesswerkstatt“ stellen wir sicher, dass die neuen Rollen und Prozesse in der Breite erlebt und verinnerlicht werden. So verankern wir Veränderungen nachhaltig in der Organisation.

 „Modularer Baukasten“
Durch unser modulares Vorgehen bieten wir unseren Kunden maßgeschneiderte Lösungen – von der Prozessdokumentation über die Prozessoptimierung bis hin zum Prozessmanagement.


Reference Case: Prozesse für jeden transparent.

Von einer großen Unternehmensgruppe aus der Immobilienwirtschaft wurden wir beauftragt, eine einheitliche, transparente und anwendbare Dokumentation für alle Unternehmensprozesse zu erstellen.

Die Dokumentation sollte dabei die Mindestanforderungen des internen Kontrollsystems erfüllen, als Grundlage für eine SAP-Systemspezifikation dienen und bei Schulungen eingesetzt werden. Während der Auftragsklärung wurden zusätzliche Ziele ersichtlich: Die Prozesse sollten durch das Unternehmen selbst angepasst werden können und im Intranet für alle Mitarbeiter verfügbar sein. Konkret sollten über 20 Prozessgruppen mit 150 einzelnen Prozessen dokumentiert, in Form einer Prozesslandkarte abgebildet und mit Arbeitsanweisungen hinterlegt werden.

Um mit dem Kunden die erforderliche Basis für das Projekt zu schaffen, steckten wir zunächst die strategische, geschäftliche und rechtliche Zielsetzung für die Prozessdokumentation ab. Im Anschluss galt es, die Geschäftsprozesse mit den Prozessexperten durchzusprechen und unter Berücksichtigung der Zielsetzungen zu dokumentieren. Gleichzeitig deckten wir Optimierungspotenziale auf und berücksichtigten diese bereits in der Prozessdokumentation.

Nach Abschluss der Prozessdokumentation wurden die einzelnen Prozessgruppen gemeinsam mit den jeweiligen Fachverantwortlichen intensiv diskutiert, feingeschliffen und übergeben. Dies war von zentraler Bedeutung, da die Verantwortlichen die neuen Prozesse in ihrem Fachbereich kommunizieren und zukünftig weiterentwickeln sollten. In einem finalen Meeting mit den Prozessbeteiligten und Ressortleitern wurde ein gemeinsames Commitment für die Prozesse erzielt.

Als flankierende Maßnahme wurden die Prozesse im Intranet für alle Mitarbeiter veröffentlicht und in den verschiedenen Regionen vorgestellt. Dadurch erreichten wir eine hohe Awareness bei den Mitarbeitern.

„Neben der zielorientierten und transparenten Dokumentation der Prozesse erreichten wir vor allem eines: Die Prozesse werden gelebt und es wurde die Grundlage für eine kontinuierliche Prozessverbesserung im Unternehmen geschaffen.“


Reference Case:
Einführung standardisierter HR-Prozesse.

Ein international führendes Telekommunikationsunternehmen stand vor der Herausforderung, in allen Konzerngesellschaften standardisierte Prozesse auf Basis des HR-Rollenmodells zu implementieren. Ein Vorgängerprojekt mit einem anderen Beratungshaus war bereits gescheitert.

Der Kunde beauftragte uns damit, Prozesse für HR-Leistungen in den drei Rollen „Business Partner“, „Shared Service Center“ und „Competence Center“ zu definieren und einzuführen. Daher erstellten wir
zunächst ein Vorgehensmodell sowie ein Kommunikationskonzept und verankerten beides auf Top-Management-Ebene. Passende Instrumente wie FAQs, Intranet-Plattform und Newsletter inklusive.

Die HR-Prozesse wurden in allen Gesellschaften erfasst und dokumentiert sowie im Anschluss konzernweit harmonisiert und optimiert. Im Rahmen von „Conference Room Simulations“ wurden sowohl die Prozesse als auch das Zusammenspiel der verschiedenen Rollen von den Mitarbeitern auf ihre Alltagstauglichkeit hin geprüft.

Zum Abschluss des Projekts wurden die standardisierten Prozesse und neuen Rollen in „Praxiswerkstätten“ mit mehr als 500 Mitarbeitern aus allen Konzerngesellschaften eingeübt, um den Implementierungserfolg des HR-Rollenmodells sicherzustellen.

Weitere Benefits, die erzielt wurden:

  • Konzeption eines „Best Practice“-Prozessmodells, das immer wieder herangezogen werden kann, um HR-Leistungen zu verbessern.
  • Abbau operativer Probleme und Störungen.
  • Starkes Commitment aller Beteiligten für die Transformation durch aktives Mitgestalten der Veränderungen.
  • Unterschiedlichste Konzerngesellschaften kommunizieren miteinander.
  • Basis für eine einheitliche IT-Landschaft.
  • Deutlicher Anstieg der internen Kundenzufriedenheit.
  • Die Bereiche Business Partner, Shared Service Center und Competence Center entwickelten Verständnis füreinander und kommunizieren wesentlich besser als zuvor.

„Prozessprojekte sind nur dann erfolgreich, wenn die Akzeptanz der Mitarbeiter und die Unterstützung des Managements sichergestellt wird."

Jens Wilke, Manager bei CPC



Kontakt

Portrait Michael Kempf
Partner
CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
Am Flughafen
THE SQUAIRE 11
60549 Frankfurt am Main  

Kontakt

Portrait Sebastian Keim
Senior Manager
CPC Unternehmensmanagement AG
Am Flughafen
THE SQUAIRE 11
60549 Frankfurt am Main  
Do you want to view the english version of our website? Click here to switch to english.